top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia Morris

E.P.I. meets GTP – How to use AI to Contify your lessons

Updated: Jan 4

Introduction

Many languages teachers in the UK swear by Gianfranco Conti’s Extensive Processing Instruction (E.P.I.) approach to language instruction. This method bases language learning on sentence builders like the one below and stresses the importance of flooding the students with lots of comprehensible input before moving on to productive skill, as described in this blog article by Conti himself: My approach: Extensive Processing Instruction (E.P.I.)

In his book “Breaking the sound barrier”, Conti proposes a long list of different activities to guide the learners through the different stages, but the method can be quite time consuming if you want to create all the different activities for the vocabulary list that your school or text book give you. Well, you probably guessed it, but ChatGPT can help with that!


All my prompts can be found on this Notion spreadsheet for easy copying.


Image create with the sentencebuilder website.


In this blog post I will share some prompts that I have created to help me Contify my lessons next school year. They will work best in ChatGPT-4 but should also work in the free version ChatGPT-3.

Remember that the output might be different every time you run it through ChatGPT, so if you don’t get the right output straight away, regenerate your answer or give follow up prompts to get what you need.

First a few notes about turning ChatGPT output into worksheets and powerpoints. Then we will look at how AI can help to create a sentence builder and for the main part of the article I will share long list of prompts to create tasks based on Conti’s ideas that can easily be adapted to any topic and language.


Turing ChatGPT output into worksheets and Powerpoints


If you subscribe to ChatGPT plus you can enable Code Interpreter and produce downloadable Word and PowerPoint files directly – see my article here.

If you are working with the standard version of ChatGPT, you will need to do a few extra steps. To create worksheets, there are two different ways of getting text from ChatGPT into a Word document. The easiest is to click the clipboard button next to the ChatGPT answer. This will copy the plain text so it can then be pasted into Word with Ctrl+V. The disadvantage is that any bold or cursive text formatting disappears, that ChatGPT might have added to the text, for example for titles. If you want to keep those, you can instead highlight the text in your ChatGPT chat and copy it with Ctrl+C and then paste it into your document. It will keep any bold text but will also probably have a gray background and possibily a border around each paragraph. To get rid of these, use the format painter in word (the little painbrush icon in the ribbon), highlight some normal looking text that you add to your page by typing a few words. Highlight this text and click the paintbrush, then hightlight the text you have copied from ChatGPT and it should look better. If there's still a box after following these steps, select the text and then go to the Home tab > Paragraph group > Borders dropdown > No Border.

Tables produced by ChatGPT can be difficult to copy as they are normally turned into text and lines when you use the clipboard copy. I found one trick to copy tables is to highlight the table as well as some other text outside it (can even be the prompt itself) and copy this over to word. The table might still look a bit strange with a double frame and grey background, but you can easily format it by clicking anywhere in the table and then the “table design” tab in Word and choosing a different look.

To turn ChatGPT output into a PowerPoint presentation, you can use the “import from outline” feature. For this, copy the ChatGPT reply into Word, and highlight the whole text, then select “styles” from the ribbon and change it to Heading 1. If you import your document into PowerPoint now (see below), each sentence would be a heading on a new slide. If you want some of the reply to be in the text box on the same slide as a title, highlight that part of the text and change the style to Heading 2.

Now save your document and open powerpoint. Click on the "New Slide" dropdown in the "Home" tab. From the dropdown, click on "Slides from Outline". In the "Insert Outline" dialog box, find and select your Word document, and then click "Insert". It will now create a simple presentation based on your ChatGPT reply. Don’t worry too much if it looks terrible and if some of the text is outside the slides – simply use either the “Designer” or the “Design” feature in PowerPoint to create a nicer layout automatically.


Creating sentence builders


To create the exercises I want to show below, it is best to base them on a vocabulary list of some kind , but you will still want to create a sentence builder to use in class as the Conti method always is always based around these word grids.

Unfortunately ChatGPT is not very good at producing a fully fledged sentence builder which can be read from the left to the right to produce a varity of sentences. If you ask for a SB you are likely to get something that resembles a vocabulary list, but with careful prompting you might gets something like this:


Prompt: I would like a table that helps in building sentences on the topic 'My family'. This table should be organized into four columns, each containing different elements of a sentence. All vocabulary should be in French followed by the English translation in brackets. The first column should be titled 'Starters' and include ways to start a sentence such as 'In my family,', 'At home,' The second column should be titled 'Family Members' and list family members like 'my mother', 'my father', ect. The third column should be titled 'Verb' and contain 'is', Finally, the fourth column should be titled 'Adjectives' and include a variety of adjectives like 'kind', 'hardworking', 'caring', ect The table should be readable from left to right, and I should be able to choose one element from each column to construct a coherent sentence. (ChatGPT itself came up with this promp


ChatGPT: Sure, here is a simple table for you to construct sentences about your family in French:



As you can see, this is not quite what we want, because it would be better to merge all the cells that say “est”. It also doesn’t take any genders and adjective endings into account, but it is a good start. We could write some follow up prompts.



Prompt: Give me a a table with two rows, one with all masculine family members, and one with all the feminine ones in French and (English).


ChatGPT:


The output here has mixed up rows and columns, but again, this gives me a good list to start building my sentence builder.


Give me a table with all the adjectives that we had above, but in the feminine and masculine form.


To conclude, teachers still need to do some of the formatting at the moment, to get useful sentence builder tables out of this, but AI can certainly save us a lot of writing, formatting and pondering over word choices.

Creating vocabulary building tasks

After you have created your sentence builder, your first exercises should consist of lots of speaking and listening tasks based on the new vocabulary. I recommend using websites like sentencebuilders.com or textivate.com to automatically generate lots of activities based on a set of vocabulary, but both of them are subscription services so you might want to practise the vocabulary with a PowerPoint.

First you could create a simple PowerPoint showing all the new sentences (see section above how to create a quick PowerPoint from an outline).



Prompts For E.P.I. activities


In this section I will show the basic, adaptable prompt and the output with the German vocabulary list below. I will only show the answer sheet for the first one to save space. To adapt the prompts, change the information in {{ }} to your own topics or vocabulary list. All my examples are created using ChatGPT-4, but should work with ChatGPT-3.5 as well. Remember to change any mention of German to the language you are using.

ChatGPT is very tolerant with the type of input you give it and will be able to create these tasks even if you only give it a list of word in one language (it will translate them itself if necessary) or it can make up a vocabulary list on a topic and level you give it. The formatting doesn’t matter too much either and the two sides of the list can be separated by equal signs, commas, tabs or brackets. If you are copy and pasting from a table, the formatting might look weird when posted into ChatGPT, but it will still work out where the two sides are.

Here is the list I am using:

I do every day = Ich mache jeden Tag

I go now and then = Ich gehe ab und zu

I go rarely = Ich gehe selten

I listen at the weekend = Ich höre am Wochenende

I watch videos on Netflix. = Ich sehe Videos auf Netflix.

I play never = Ich spiele nie

I do never = Ich mache nie

I do often = Ich mache oft

I play every day = Ich spiele jeden Tag

I go never = Ich gehe nie

I watch now and then = Ich sehe ab und zu

I read every day = Ich lese jeden Tag

I don't like it. = Es gefällt mir nicht.

I do at the weekend = Ich mache am Wochenende

I do always = Ich mache immer

I watch often = Ich sehe oft

I ride every day = Ich fahre jeden Tag

I play football. = Ich spiele Fußball.

I go always = Ich gehe immer

I find it super. = Ich finde es super.


Vocabulary building


Match up

Create a worksheet. The title is “Match up” and the instruction is “ Write the correct number next to the English”. Then put out a table based on the following vocab {{vocab list}}, the table should only have 11 rows and these columns: first column titled “German” with the phrases in German, numbered. Second column “Match” which is empty, third column with the letters of the alphabet starting from A, Fourth column with the English translations of the first column but in random order and labelled with letters of the alphabet, starting from A. Put out the answers on a separate sheet. Title: Match up Instruction: Write the correct number next to the English German (Nummeriert) Match Letter English (Alphabetisiert) 1. Ich finde es langweilig. A I go always 2. Ich spiele ab und zu B I listen not 3. Ich sehe ab und zu C I read sometimes 4. Ich fahre immer D I find it boring 5. Ich höre jeden Tag E I watch now and then 6. Ich höre nicht F I do never 7. Ich lese manchmal G I play now and then 8. Ich mache nie H I go fishing 9. Ich gehe immer I I listen every day 10. Ich gehe angeln. J I ride always Answer Sheet German (Nummeriert) Match Letter English (Alphabetisiert) 1. Ich finde es langweilig. D A I go always 2. Ich spiele ab und zu G B I listen not 3. Ich sehe ab und zu E C I read sometimes 4. Ich fahre immer J D I find it boring 5. Ich höre jeden Tag I E I watch now and then 6. Ich höre nicht B F I do never 7. Ich lese manchmal C G I play now and then 8. Ich mache nie F H I go fishing 9. Ich gehe immer A I I listen every day 10. Ich gehe angeln. H J I ride always Suitable Words Create a Worksheet. The title is “Suitable words” Given the following list of sentences, generate 10 fill-in-the-blank questions, removing a key word from each sentence. The instructons should be "Complete with a suitable word" Do not include any English translations. Here is the word list: {{vocabulary}}

Complete with a suitable word Ich finde es ________. Ich spiele ab und ________. Ich sehe ab und ________. Ich fahre ________. Ich höre jeden ________. Ich höre ________. Ich lese ________. Ich mache ________. Ich gehe ________. Ich gehe ________.

Missing Words Create a worksheet. The title is “Complete the missing word” and the instruction is “ Write the word that is missing”. Then put out a table. The first column should be entitled “German”, it should be numbered 1-10 and then have a very short very short sentences based on the following vocab {{vocab list}}. One random word per sentence should be gapped and replaced with a underscore line. The second column should have the title “English” and show the complete translation of the German sentence. Output the teacher answers on a separate worksheet. Don’t mention the word “worksheet”, “title” or “instructions”.

Write the word that is missing German (Nummeriert) English 1. Ich mache jeden ________ I do every day 2. Ich gehe ab und ________ I go now and then 3. Ich gehe ________ I go rarely 4. Ich höre am ________ I listen at the weekend 5. Ich sehe Videos auf ________ I watch videos on Netflix 6. Ich spiele ________ I play never 7. Ich mache ________ I do never 8. Ich mache ________ I do often 9. Ich spiele jeden ________ I play every day 10. Ich gehe ________ I go never Phrase translations Create a worksheet. The title is “Translation” and the instruction is “Write English translation”. Then put out a table. The first column should be entitled “German”, it should be numbered 1-10 and then have a very short very short sentences based on the following vocab {{vocab list}}. The second column should have the title “English” and be empty. Output the teacher answers on a separate worksheet. Don’t mention the word “worksheet”, “title” or “instructions”.

Write English translation German (Nummeriert) English 1. Ich mache jeden Tag 2. Ich gehe ab und zu 3. Ich gehe selten 4. Ich höre am Wochenende 5. Ich sehe Videos auf Netflix 6. Ich spiele nie 7. Ich mache nie 8. Ich mache oft 9. Ich spiele jeden Tag 10. Ich gehe nie

Broken Words Create a worksheet. The title is “Broken words” and the instruction is “Fill in the missing letters”. Then put out a table. The first column should be entitled “German”, it should be numbered 1-10 and then show a single word from the vocab list {{vocabulary}}, with one letter missing and replace by an underscore. Output the teacher answers on a separate worksheet. Don’t mention the word “worksheet”, “title” or “instructions”.

Fill in the missing letters German (Nummeriert) 1. Ic_ 2. mache 3. jed_n 4. Tag 5. g_he 6. ab 7. un_ 8. s_lten 9. hö_e 10. Woc_enende

Broken Sentences

Fill in the rest of the words Number German English 1. I_ m_ j_ T_ I do every day 2. I_ g_ a_ u_ z_ I go now and then 3. I_ g_ s_ I go rarely 4. I_ h_ a_ W_ I listen at the weekend 5. I_ s_ V_ a_ N_ I watch videos on Netflix 6. I_ s_ n_ I play never 7. I_ m_ n_ I do never 8. I_ m_ o_ I do often 9. I_ s_ j_ T_ I play every day 10. I_ g_ n_ I go never Bad translations Student Sheet Your teacher will read two possible translations for each sentence. You need to decide which one is correct. Ich mache jeden Tag Ich gehe ab und zu Ich gehe selten Ich höre am Wochenende Ich sehe Videos auf Netflix. Ich spiele nie Ich mache nie Ich mache oft Ich spiele jeden Tag Ich gehe nie Teacher Sheet Ich mache jeden Tag I do every day I do every month Ich gehe ab und zu I go now and then I go often Ich gehe selten I go rarely I go always Ich höre am Wochenende I listen at the weekend I listen on weekdays Ich sehe Videos auf Netflix. I watch videos on Netflix. I watch videos on Amazon Prime. Ich spiele nie I play never I play always Ich mache nie I do never I do often Ich mache oft I do often I do rarely Ich spiele jeden Tag I play every day I play once a week Ich gehe nie I go never I go often Sentence Stealer Create a worksheet. the title is "Sentence stealers" The instructions are: 1. On each of your pieces of paper, copy one sentence from the list. Don’t show it to anyone! 2. You will go around the room, trying to guess your partners sentences. If you guess correctly you get to steal their sentence. 3. The person with the most sentences… is the winner!! 4. If you cheat by speaking English.. Your teacher can steal a sentence from you automatically!” Underneath should be a list of 10 sentences based on the topic of {{topic}} based partly on this vocab list. Don't include the vocab list. Here it is: {{list}}. Don’t mention the word “worksheet”, “title” or “instructions”. Sentence Stealers On each of your pieces of paper, copy one sentence from the list. Don’t show it to anyone! You will go around the room, trying to guess your partners sentences. If you guess correctly you get to steal their sentence. The person with the most sentences… is the winner!! If you cheat by speaking English, Your teacher can steal a sentence from you automatically! Sentences: Ich mache jeden Tag Sport. Ich gehe ab und zu ins Kino. Ich gehe selten schwimmen. Ich höre am Wochenende Musik. Ich sehe Videos auf Netflix. Ich spiele nie Tennis. Ich mache nie Hausaufgaben am Sonntag. Ich mache oft einen Spaziergang. Ich spiele jeden Tag Fußball. Ich gehe nie zur Arbeit am Wochenende. Battleships Create a Battleship game worksheet for practicing German sentence construction. The game should be based on a 6x6 table. In the leftmost column, please list five sentence beginnings in German, starting from the second row. The top row should consist of five sentence endings that could potentially match with any of the beginnings. These endings should start from the second column. Ensure that the endings are compatible with all beginnings. The sentences should be based on the theme of {{topic}}. The game should have the following instructions: “The aim of the game is to find all your opponents Ships by saying the sentences. Put 5 S for Schiff (ship) into your grid. X=Treffer (Hit), O=Verpasst (Miss). Don’t mention the word “worksheet”, “title” or “instructions”. Battleship Game The aim of the game is to find all your opponents Ships by saying the sentences. Put 5 S for Schiff (ship) into your grid. X=Treffer (Hit), O=Verpasst (Miss). jeden Tag ab und zu selten nie am Wochenende Ich mache Ich gehe Ich höre Ich sehe Ich spiele Pyramid Translation Create a worksheet for a pyramid translation exercise from English to German based on the topic of 'family'. the title is "Pyramid translation” The instructions are: “Working in groups of 3. One person is a referee who has the answers. The other two people must take it in turns to translate each sentence. If they make a mistake, the referee must tell them and the other partner can start trying to translate the sentences from the start. The first person to translate all sentences perfectly is the winner! “ Please start with a very basic sentence in English, the next sentence should be identical but add one extra detail or element, it should be based on the topic of {{family}} . Make five layers of complexity, with each layer adding more information and details to the sentence. Please ensure the sentences remain comprehensible at an {{A1}} language level. Provide all the English sentences first, followed by all the German translations.” Pyramid Translation Instructions: Working in groups of 3. One person is a referee who has the answers. The other two people must take it in turns to translate each sentence. If they make a mistake, the referee must tell them and the other partner can start trying to translate the sentences from the start. The first person to translate all sentences perfectly is the winner! English Sentences I have a sister. I have a sister and a brother. I have a sister and a brother, they live in Berlin. I have a sister and a brother, they live in Berlin and love music. I have a sister and a brother, they live in Berlin, love music, and often go to concerts. One Pen One Dice Copying Create a worksheet. the title is "One pen one dice copying" The instructions are "You will work in pairs. You have only 1 pen and one dice. One person will start with the pen and can start copying the Spanish. The other person must keep rolling the dice until they roll a 6. When they roll 6 they must say “los” and swap the dice for the pen. Then they can start copying. The winner is the person who finishes first. " Underneath should be a table With the headings "Text" and "Copy". It should have rows below that. The rows under the "text" heading should contain one German sentence each based around the vocab list: {{list}}. Don’t mention the word “worksheet”, “title” or “instructions”. You will work in pairs. You have only 1 pen and one dice. One person will start with the pen and can start copying the Spanish. The other person must keep rolling the dice until they roll a 6. When they roll 6 they must say “los” and swap the dice for the pen. Then they can start copying. The winner is the person who finishes first. Text Copy 1. Ich spiele nie Fußball. 2. Ich mache jeden Tag Hausaufgaben. 3. Ich lese jeden Tag ein Buch. 4. Ich sehe ab und zu Filme auf Netflix. 5. Ich höre am Wochenende Musik. 6. Ich gehe selten ins Kino. 7. Ich fahre jeden Tag mit dem Fahrrad. 8. Es gefällt mir nicht, früh aufzustehen. 9. Ich mache oft Sport. 10. Ich finde es super, Bücher zu lesen. Rock Climbing Create a worksheet. the title is "Rock climbing” The instructions are: “ Can you translate the text out of the chunks” Underneath, show 5 English sentences based on these chunks: {{chunks}} Fill the corresponding German chunks and some of the superfluous chunks into a 7x7 table in random order. Create a separate teacher sheet with the German translations of the 5 sentences. Instructions: Can you translate the text out of the chunks? English Sentences: I do my homework every day. I often watch movies on Netflix. I ride my bicycle to school every day. I go to the cinema now and then. I never play football on the weekend. Table of German Chunks: Ich fahre jeden Tag Nie Hausaufgaben mache Ich am Wochenende Fußball Ich gehe ab und zu spiele Kino oft Ich Netflix auf Ich Filme sehe Fahrrad zur Schule meine Ich mache jeden Tag Ich immer super Ich finde es Bücher zu lesen Ich selten Ich höre Videos am Wochenende Musik Ich gehe Ich spiele Fußball No snakes No ladders Create a worksheet. The title is “No snakes, no ladders”, The instructions are: “You'll play in groups of three (2 players + 1 referee) or five (2 teams of two players and one referee). Take turns rolling the dice. Depending on your dice score, you'll land on a field. You'll then have 10-15 seconds to orally translate the corresponding sentence(s) into the target language. The referee, with the help of the answer sheet, will let you know if your translation is correct. If you get it right, you'll roll the dice again and advance to the next field, where you'll translate the next sentence, and so on. If your translation isn't correct, the referee will read the correct version to you twice, giving you a chance to memorize it for the next round. After your opponents' turn, you'll get another chance to roll the dice. If you correctly answer the question you originally got wrong, you'll advance. Ten minutes into the game, the player or team closest to the finish line wins.” Underneath, create a table with 8 columns and 3 rows. There should be no header row. The first cells should say “start”. The rest of the cells in the top row should be labelled 1-7. In the next row, the cells should be numbered counting backwards from 15-8. In the last rows the cells should be numbered 16-22 and the last cell should say “Ziel”. In all cells that have numbers, also put a random phrase or word from this list in German only: {{Vocab list}} Create a teacher answer sheet with the same table but with the English translations of the first table. [Note: in the original version of the game, the sentences towards the end should be getting longer and more complex, so you might need to adapt them manually.] Reading tasks To create reading tasks, you can either use texts that you already have from your text book or you can get ChatGPT create one or several based around a topic or vocabulary list. Write 3 similar but different text of {{number of words}} based on this vocab: {{vocabulary}} in German at CEFR level {{level}}. Text 1 Jeden Tag mache ich etwas. Oft sehe ich Videos auf Netflix. Am Wochenende höre ich Musik und lese ein Buch. Aber ich spiele nie Fußball. Ab und zu gehe ich ins Kino. Es ist selten, dass ich Fahrrad fahre. Ich mache immer meine Hausaufgaben. Ich finde es super, jeden Tag zu lernen. Text 2 Ich mache jeden Tag Sport. Ich sehe oft Filme auf Netflix. Am Wochenende mache ich einen Spaziergang. Ich spiele nie Videospiele. Selten gehe ich ins Fitnessstudio. Ich lese jeden Tag Bücher. Fußball spiele ich nur ab und zu. Ich fahre jeden Tag mit dem Bus zur Arbeit. Ich finde mein Leben super! Text 3 Ich mache jeden Tag Yoga. Ich sehe oft Dokumentationen auf Netflix. Ich spiele nie Schach. Am Wochenende lese ich gerne Romane. Ich gehe selten in die Disco. Ich fahre jeden Tag mit dem Fahrrad in den Park. Ab und zu gehe ich mit meinen Freunden aus. Ich finde es super, aktiv zu sein. Find in the text Create a worksheet. The title is "Reading" the instruction is "Find in the text". Underneath show this text: {{TEXT}}. Now write 10 English sentence chunks whose translation can be found in the text. Write a separate answer sheet for the teacher. Don’t mention the word “worksheet”, “title” or “instructions”. Find in the text Jeden Tag mache ich etwas. Oft sehe ich Videos auf Netflix. Am Wochenende höre ich Musik und lese ein Buch. Aber ich spiele nie Fußball. Ab und zu gehe ich ins Kino. Es ist selten, dass ich Fahrrad fahre. Ich mache immer meine Hausaufgaben. Ich finde es super, jeden Tag zu lernen. I do every day I watch videos on Netflix. I listen at the weekend I play never I go now and then I go rarely I ride every day I do always I find it super I read every day Spot the difference “What is the difference between each of these texts? Write the details in English.” Text 1: Jeden Tag mache ich etwas. Oft sehe ich Videos auf Netflix. Am Wochenende höre ich Musik und lese ein Buch. Aber ich spiele nie Fußball. Ab und zu gehe ich ins Kino. Es ist selten, dass ich Fahrrad fahre. Ich mache immer meine Hausaufgaben. Ich finde es super, jeden Tag zu lernen. Text 2: Jeden Tag mache ich etwas. Selten sehe ich Videos auf Netflix. Am Wochenende höre ich Musik und lese ein Buch. Aber ich spiele oft Fußball. Ab und zu gehe ich ins Kino. Es ist selten, dass ich Fahrrad fahre. Ich mache nie meine Hausaufgaben. Ich finde es super, jeden Tag zu lernen. Text 3: Jeden Tag mache ich etwas. Oft sehe ich Videos auf Netflix. Am Wochenende höre ich Musik und lese ein Buch. Aber ich spiele nie Fußball. Immer gehe ich ins Kino. Es ist selten, dass ich Fahrrad fahre. Ich mache immer meine Hausaufgaben. Ich finde es nicht super, jeden Tag zu lernen. Teacher's Answer Sheet Differences between Text 1 and Text 2: In Text 1, "I often watch videos on Netflix", while in Text 2, "I rarely watch videos on Netflix". In Text 1, "I never play football", while in Text 2, "I often play football". In Text 1, "I always do my homework", while in Text 2, "I never do my homework". Differences between Text 1 and Text 3: In Text 1, "I go to the cinema now and then", while in Text 3, "I always go to the cinema". In Text 1, "I find it super to learn every day", while in Text 3, "I don't find it super to learn every day". Translate from context Create a worksheet. The title is “Translation”. The instructions are: “Work out the English translations from the context”. Given the following German text: '{{Text}}', identify 10-15 less common or more challenging words. Display these words in a table with three columns, one for the German word and one for the example sentence from the text where the word is used, leaving the English translation column empty. Then, separately, provide a list of the English translations for these words, but in a randomized order and without their corresponding German words. Don’t mention the word “worksheet”, “title” or “instructions”. Translation Work out the English translations from the context. German word Example Sentence English Translation jeden Jeden Tag mache ich etwas. oft Oft sehe ich Videos auf Netflix. Wochenende Am Wochenende höre ich Musik und lese ein Buch. spiele Aber ich spiele nie Fußball. nie Aber ich spiele nie Fußball. ab und zu Ab und zu gehe ich ins Kino. selten Es ist selten, dass ich Fahrrad fahre. immer Ich mache immer meine Hausaufgaben. finde Ich finde es super, jeden Tag zu lernen. super Ich finde es super, jeden Tag zu lernen. English Translations (in randomized order): rarely always often every find never super play weekend now and then Who said it? Create a worksheet. the title is "Narrow Reading – Who…" The instructions are: “Who of these people…” Underneath there should be 3 texts in German at CEFR level {{A1}} on the topic of {{topic}} based on this vocabulary list [list]. The texts should be about {{100}} words long and quite similar to each other. Write 10 Questions starting with “who” about the texts so students need to determine which text they apply to. Make a separate answer sheet for the teacher underneath. Don’t mention the word “worksheet”, “title” or “instructions”. Don’t mention the word “worksheet”, “title” or “instructions”. Narrow Reading – Who… Text 1: Jeden Tag mache ich gerne Sport. Ich spiele oft Fußball mit meinen Freunden. Am Wochenende gehe ich gerne wandern. Aber ich sehe selten Videos auf Netflix. Text 2: Ich lese jeden Tag ein Buch. Am Wochenende gehe ich ab und zu ins Kino oder sehe Videos auf Netflix. Ich spiele nie Fußball, aber ich fahre oft Fahrrad. Text 3: Ich mache jeden Tag Hausaufgaben. Ich sehe oft Videos auf Netflix. Am Wochenende spiele ich gerne Fußball mit meinen Freunden. Ich gehe selten wandern. Answer the questions: Who plays football often? Who goes hiking on the weekends? Who rarely watches videos on Netflix? Who reads a book every day? Who sometimes goes to the cinema on the weekends? Who never plays football? Who often rides a bicycle? Who does homework every day? Who often watches Netflix videos? Who seldom goes hiking? Gap fill Create worksheet with a gap-fill activity based on the following text. The title is "Gap fil" the instructions are: "Fill in the gaps". Write the text but with 10-15 words replaced with a number and a long underscores. Choose a mixture of nouns, verbs, adjectives and prepositions to remove, ensuring the blanks are evenly distributed throughout the text. Provide the missing words in a word bank at the bottom of the page, the words need to be in a random order. Also, create a separate answer key that matches the numbered blanks to the correct words from the word bank. The text for this activity is as follows: {{text}}. [Note: ChatGPT seems to find it difficult to create gaps that look like this 1.________________, despite trying a range of prompts. It might be easier to add them manually] I apologize for the oversight. Here is the corrected version with a randomized word bank: Gap Fill Fill in the gaps: 1.____________________________ Tag mache ich etwas. Selten sehe ich Videos auf 2.. Am 3. höre ich Musik und lese ein 4.. Aber ich spiele oft 5.. 6.____________________________ und zu gehe ich ins Kino. Es ist 7., dass ich 8. fahre. Ich mache nie meine 9.. Ich finde es 10., jeden Tag zu lernen. Word Bank: selten Wochenende Buch Ab Netflix Fußball Jeden super Fahrrad Hausaufgaben True or False Create a worksheet. The title is “True or False?” The instructions are: “Tick the true statements. Correct the incorrect statements. “ Develop 10 numbered statements based on the text {{text}}, 5 true and 5 false, that encourage careful reading and test comprehension. Do not provide any hints or answers within the question. Produce a separate answer sheet. Worksheet: Title: True or False? Instructions: Tick the true statements. Correct the incorrect statements. 1. I do something every day. 2. I often watch videos on Netflix. 3. I listen to music and read a book on weekends. 4. I never play football. 5. I go to the cinema now and then. 6. It is common for me to ride a bicycle. 7. I always do my homework. 8. I find it great to learn every day. 9. I rarely play football. 10. I read a book every day. Multipe Choice Create a worksheet. The title is “Multiple Choice” The instructions are: “Tick the correct answer. “ Create five numbered questions about specific details, main ideas, and messages in this text: {{text}}. Each question should have four possible answers, only of which is true and explicitly mentioned in the text. Do not provide any hints or answers within the question. Produce a separate answer sheet. Worksheet Title: Multiple Choice Instructions: Tick the correct answer. 1. What does the author do every day? a. Watches videos on Netflix. b. Does something. c. Goes to the cinema. d. Rides a bicycle. 2. What is rare for the author to do? a. Play football. b. Ride a bicycle. c. Go to the cinema. d. Do homework. 3. What activity does the author do often? a. Going to the cinema. b. Watching videos on Netflix. c. Playing football. d. Riding a bicycle. Short answer questions Create a worksheet. The title is “Open Questions” The instructions are: “Answer the questions. “ Formulate five numbered questions in {{language}} that require students to respond in their own words about this text: {{text}}. These should be designed to encourage deeper thinking and help assess students' understanding of the text more accurately. Do not provide answers or hints within the question itself. Finally, provide an answer key for all the questions separately for the teacher. Answer the questions. 1. What is a typical daily routine for the person described in the text? 2. How often does this person watch videos on Netflix and why do you think so? 3. What activities does this person prefer to do on the weekends? 4. Based on the text, how would you describe this person's attitude towards football? 5. Why do you think the person in the text never does their homework? Grammar and Writing tasks Find grammar in the text Create a worksheet. the title is " How many…" The instructions are: “How many Verbs with ich Prepositions Adjectives Verbs to express opinions ” Underneath there should be 2 texts in German at CEFR level {{A1}} on the topic of {{topic}} based on this vocabulary list {{ vocab list}}. The texts should be about {{word count}} words long. Make a separate answer sheet for the teacher underneath. Based on the topic {{topic}}, produce lists in German with the English translation in brackets: 5 adjectives 5 time phrases 5 present tense verbs 5 perfect tense verbs 3 colloquial expressions Sure, here are the requested lists based on the topic of family and pets: Adjectives: liebevoll (loving) treu (faithful) klein (small) groß (big) fröhlich (happy) Time phrases: jeden Tag (every day) am Wochenende (on the weekend) manchmal (sometimes) oft (often) selten (rarely) Present tense verbs: habe (have) liebe (love) spiele (play) kümmere mich um (take care of) füttere (feed) Perfect tense verbs: hat geliebt (has loved) hat gespielt (has played) hat gefüttert (has fed) hat gekümmert (has taken care of) hat gehabt (has had) Colloquial expressions: Alles in Butter (Everything's fine - Literally: Everything in butter) Mein Fleisch und Blut (My flesh and blood - Used to refer to close family members) Das ist mir Wurst (I don't care - Literally: It's sausage to me) Over to you Create a worksheet. The title is “Over to you” The instructions are: “Answer the questions about yourself in German. “ Formulate five numbered questions in German to encourage students to produce a text similar to this one: {{text}} Title: Over to you Answer the questions about yourself in German. 1. Was machst du jeden Tag? (What do you do every day?) 2. Wie oft siehst du Videos auf Netflix? (How often do you watch videos on Netflix?) 3. Was machst du am Wochenende? (What do you do at the weekend?) 4. Spielst du oft Fußball oder betreibst du eine andere Sportart oft? (Do you often play football or do you often do another sport?) 5. Wie oft gehst du ins Kino? (How often do you go to the cinema?) Sentence Beginnings Here is an exam task: “Write 90 words about your family • Describe your family • Why you like spendings time with your family • What did you do with your family last weekend? • What is you plan with your family next summer?” Give me 8 sentence beginnings for answers these questions, but no more than 4 words and the end should be missing. Write them in German with the English in brackets. Sure, here are eight German sentence starters with their English translations: "In meiner Familie gibt es..." (In my family, there are...) "Ich verbringe gerne Zeit mit..." (I enjoy spending time with...) "Letztes Wochenende haben wir..." (Last weekend, we...) "Nächstes Jahr wollen wir..." (Next summer, we want to...) "Meine Schwester ist..." (My sister is...) "Mein Bruder ist..." (My brother is...) "Wir haben vor, nächstes Jahr..." (We plan to next summer...) "Ich mag es, Zeit mit meiner Familie zu verbringen, weil..." (I like spending time with my family because...) Write 90 words about your family · Describe your family · Why you like spendings time with your family · What did you do with your family last weekend? · What is you plan with your family next summer? Based on the topic {{topic}}, produce lists in German with the English translation in brackets: 5 adjectives 5 time phrases 5 present tense verbs 5 perfect tense verbs 3 colloquial expressions Tackling Exam tasks advice Here is an exam task: Write 90 words about your family in French • Describe your family • Why you like spendings time with your family • What did you do with your family last weekend? • What is you plan with your family next summer? For each questions give me some advice how to takle the task, what structures to use and some useful vocabulary and verbs in the correct tense. Great! Let's break down each question: Describe your family: Advice: Start by mentioning the size of your family and the members in it. Talk about their names, ages, and what they do. Structures to use: "Il y a ... personnes dans ma famille", "J'ai ... (number) frère(s)/soeur(s)". Useful vocabulary and verbs: "Ma mère s'appelle...", "Mon père a ... ans", "ma soeur est étudiante". Why you like spending time with your family: Advice: Think about activities you enjoy doing together or qualities you admire in your family members. Structures to use: "J'aime passer du temps avec ma famille parce que..." Useful vocabulary and verbs: "nous rions beaucoup", "nous nous soutenons toujours", "nous partageons des intérêts communs". What did you do with your family last weekend?: Advice: Use the past tense to describe what you did. Include details like where you went, who you went with, and how it was. Structures to use: "Le week-end dernier, nous avons..." Useful vocabulary and verbs: "rendu visite à", "dîné ensemble", "regardé un film", "joué à des jeux de société". What is your plan with your family next summer?: Advice: Use future tense to describe your plans. This could include vacation plans, or activities you're looking forward to doing. Structures to use: "L'été prochain, nous allons...", "Nous avons l'intention de..." Useful vocabulary and verbs: "partir en vacances", "visiter des musées", "faire du camping", "apprendre à nager". Always remember to check your work for correct verb tenses and agreements. Use a variety of vocabulary to make your text more interesting. Also, try to connect your sentences to create a coherent text. Good luck!



849 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page